View Categories

User Default Settings

In this page we will explore user’s default settings which are picked on user creation.

Location settings #

Define user’s default location settings by going Settings->Location settings menu item on left navigation.

User default Location Settings

  • Default timezone – This is the default timezone for displaying dates – each user can override this setting in their profile.
  • Force timezone – You can allow users to individually select their timezone, or force a timezone for everyone.
  • Default country – If you set a country here, then this country will be selected by default on new user accounts. To force users to choose a country, just leave this unset.
  • Default city – A city entered here will be the default city when creating new user accounts.

Language settings #

Define user’s default language settings by going Settings->Language->Language settings menu item on left navigation.

User default Language Settings

  • Language autodetect – Detect default language from browser setting, if disabled site default is used.
  • Default language – Choose a default language for the whole site. Users can override this setting using the language menu or the setting in their personal profile.
  • Browser language – If enabled, when a user’s account is created automatically on first login (e.g. using LDAP or OAuth 2 authentication), the user’s browser language is set as their preferred language. Otherwise, the default language for the site is set as the user’s preferred language.
Go to Top